Any other progressives here? Anyone getting tired of the automatic allegation that anybody talking about Wikileaks / the DNC is an alt-right or Trump supporter? via /r/WikiLeaks


Any other progressives here? Anyone getting tired of the automatic allegation that anybody talking about Wikileaks / the DNC is an alt-right or Trump supporter?

I'm just wondering, is this sub entirely comprised of Trump supporters as the establishment supporting hordes would have people believe? Not having a go at those who support him, merely asking because I'm a Sanders supporter and I've been furious at the Democratic establishment since long before Trump was ever a serious contender for the Republican nomination. And I'm getting utterly jaded at being constantly "profiled" as either an alt-right or Trump supporter, which is then used to ignore or discredit the content of my argument, any time I bring up the shenanigans in the DNC and what happened with Seth Rich / Clinton's and Podesta's emails / etc.

Am I truly some kind of unique breed or is the assumption that "supports wikileaks = right wing / supports Trump" utter bullshit as I suspect it is? Hell, I remember a time when Wikileaks were championed by the left and bashed by the right routinely because their main focus was exposing wrongdoing in the military / industrial complex. The cognitive dissonance of those on the left who can flip flop so easily depending on whose "side" Wikileaks is "helping" astounds me – personally I'm just in favour of transparency when it comes to entities and organisations in positions of power and authority, I couldn't give a bollocks whose side those entities are on – if they're engaging in wrongdoing you can damn well bet I'll cheer for that being exposed. In fact, I'm probably harsher on my own side of the political aisle because I want progressive politicians to actually get elected and follow through on their promises, not either lie about their manifestoes or be seen as so fucking corrupt that they can't even get elected to begin with.

For me, this isn't anything to do with Trump, it's about the left getting our fucking house in order in time for 2018 and 2020 – I'd rather not see another absolute shit show of a primary campaign which actively conspires to fuck anybody with integrity over in favour of establishment shills.

Anyone else?

Submitted May 17, 2017 at 12:17AM by hatrickpatrick
via reddit http://bit.ly/2qQsF0e

Leave a Reply

